Collaborative Efforts In Educating About Research Are Key To Substantive Gains

everyPWP needs to read this!

Israel Robledo

The bottom line is that if persons with Parkinson’s Disease, and those without, are to become involved in the clinical trial process, whether in drug development or finding new therapies, education is key to getting anything done. What is keeping people from volunteering in clinical trials? One reason that I found early on (several years ago) was the cost of participating in trials. Sister Mary Daniels suggested I contact the Parkinson’s Disease Clinic in Bethesda, Maryland, and ask about any clinical trials I would qualify for at that time. I called, was scheduled an appointment, and was told that flight arrangements, hotel accomodations, and ground transportation information would be forwarded to me. I was then told that the funding for getting me to NIH was part of the federal budget, therefore this was part of my taxpayer money at work. Then to top it off, I was thanked for allowing…

View original post 560 more words

I am physiotherapist diagnosed at age 47 with Parkinson's disease. Volunteer in my local community with parkinson specific exercises for PWP. Founder of ParkinGo Wellness Society, www.parkingo.org .Tireless advocate for better quality of lives for people living with PD across the global community.Ambassador for www.parkinsonsmovement.com and a Global Ambassador for WPC2016 Portland Oregon Sept 20-23

Posted in Uncategorized
One comment on “Collaborative Efforts In Educating About Research Are Key To Substantive Gains
  1. Connie Elliott says:

    Read this earlier and thot it was excellent! Makes me want to do the same. Thanks for passing this on.

Leave a Reply

